Blossom

During the day the delicate ocean waves would lap across the white sands and wash away any trace of disturbances from previous moments. It was as if a gentle cloth was wiping clean the slate of time. This beautiful repetition of nature could be so perfect yet imperfect in the same instant, never once replacing the grains of sand where they originally started.

Even the sea eagles played a part in the day-to-day dance of time as they drifted above the waters in search for their next meal. The fish, insignificant as they seemed, would put a stop to the entire performance of wind-dancing birds above if none were left to leap from the waters- a signal for the eagles to take the plunge.

In the night the scene saw the removal of vibrant fish and soaring birds. The sounds of the waves continued as it did when the sun rose high, but without the splashes of predator and prey. It made the waters sound so much louder than they were, giving them their moment to be heard. Bioluminescent plankton complimented the sound of the water’s breath with a brilliant display of blue and green colours with each wipe of the slate. Julianni lay on the beach in the midst of nature’s rhythm knowing full well her own trace here would be washed away when she left. But that was okay.

Lying beside her was a woman of dark, flowing hair with skin somewhat darker than her own. Eyes as green as the most brilliant of emeralds carried such a bright glimmer of hope that rivaled the extraordinary display of bioluminescent plankton. Julianni ran her fingers through her half-sister’s hair, completely caught up in the moment of relaxation–this was peace.

Laiyla’s eyes opened, her hand reaching up to tap Julianni’s nose. “Are you even listening, my dear sister?” Julianni blinked and giggled softly, tapping Laiyla’s nose in return. “Forgive me, I was distracted,” she said. “Despite the many times we have come to this place, I still seem to
lose myself in the beauty of it all.”

Laiyla laughed, resting her head on Julianni’s lap. “Well, you don’t have to leave, you know. If you are happy here, then stay. We can build you a home. And before you protest, I don’t want to hear it. You know we all love you here.”

“You know I have a duty to-“

“You have a duty to only yourself, Julianni. You do not have to continue to serve an organization that effectively owns you in a morally acceptable way,” Laiyla interrupted. “The only difference between them and the Holders is they do not pretend it is for religious reasons.”

Julianni took a deep breath, letting the sound of the waves overtake the moment again. Laiyla was a woman of gentle disposition, but she had not the timidness that Julianni had, and she quite often would stand up against things she believed to be wrong. It was admirable, really. She had a sense of courage that Julianni did not originally have, but as the years had passed, Laiyla inspired her to hold her head high.

“Laiyla, believe me when I say I want to stay. I truly do. I have never found peace such as this. But I want you to consider this peace I have  found is not just in the air I breathe, nor the sounds I hear; it is not in the ocean waters; it is not in the blue-green shimmer in the water at night. I have found it in you. You have given me a dear sister that I cherish with my entire being, and you have given me hope where I believed there was none.” Running her fingers through Laiyla’s hair, she continued.

“There are many out there that need such hope, and I want to share it
with those who need it most, just as you have shared it with me.”

The waters began to ring through, another moment of silence passing between them. Finally, it broke. “Then let me stay with you. Let me help you. I can pack my things and I can train to be a capsuleer. I am not  weak, and I’m sure capsuleers are capable of the same as non- capsuleers in the way of darkness.”

Oh, how wrong her sister was. Julianni recalled those moments when
capsuleers proved how much more brutal they could be. Every day non-capsuleers were killed as a result of a capsuleer’s never-ending war against their enemy. So too were non-capsuleers slain when a capsuleer decided to have some fun and roam, looking for a fight in which they would come back fine, though down one ship and crew.  They were replaceable. The capsuleer would get back into a ship and, sometimes within minutes of returning to the world of the living, go right back to battle.

There were also the methods by which capsuleers used to get what they wanted.

Dominius becoming a capsuleer to find Julianni and twist her mind.

Sakala and Ross utilizing innocents with drugs and violence to get what they wanted from I-RED.

Dominius setting her own half-brother against her to attack her home and kill non-capsuleer members of the Internal Watch.

Drake Arson weaving webs with children to try to twist Julianni in his
favour.

Dr. Aneozomi utilizing TCMCs to affect Julianni’s memory.

Julianni herself meeting with someone to permanently dispose of a  certain capsuleer…

“I can’t let you become a monster, Laiyla. I would die before I saw you become such a thing,” she finally said softly. “I swear to you that if I thought it were possible for you to join me out there without losing yourself, I would. But I cannot let the hope you have become tainted. I  would never forgive myself.”

It was a moment of realization for Laiyla, and though it appeared she  wished to protest, the look in her emerald-green eyes betrayed the fear she had of Julianni’s words. “Do you believe I would really become such a thing,” she asked Julianni quietly and with sincerity.

“All capsuleers do,” came Julianni’s pained reply. The silence between the two sisters injected a sadness into the air echoed by the nearby sound of a whale’s cry.

Nothing more was said between the two that night.

In the morning, Laiyla helped Julianni pack, still relatively quiet from the previous night. Once Julianni was prepared to board the shuttle to depart the planet, Laiyla grasped onto her, hugging her tightly and whispering into her ear.

“I give you my word, Julianni, I will remain here for when you return.
Please don’t forget me.”

Julianni held her tightly, tears threatening to spill from her cheeks.
“I would never. You have made me believe there could still be hope, even for monsters. I love you.”

After the tearful goodbye, the door to the shuttle sealed and Julianni
buckled into the seat. It was quite some time before she could gather herself, but when she did, she placed a holo-call.

“Good day, Executor Hinkelmann. I am on my way. Can you ensure my
office is prepared?”

 


Leave a comment